PDA

Arkistonäkymässä ei tällä hetkellä lainaus erotu varsinaisesta viestistä. Suosittelemme että vilkaisette ns. täydellistä versiota: : Person on both sides of Atlantic on same day

J Maki USA
14.06.24, 14:56
I am new to Suku Forum but have been researching my Finnish relatives for the past five years. Now I am writing the story of my grandparents immigration to the USA. But I have a situation that I am unable to resolve and would greatly appreciate your input.

Ship records for my grandmother Aurora Harju show her arriving in Quebec, Canada on 2 Aug 1907 while Kurikka and Kauhajoki Moving Records report her as departing Kurikka on 3 Aug 1907 and arriving in Kauhajoki in 4 Aug 1907.

The ship manifest and US/Canada Border Crossing document shows details that specifically identify her - rather than another Finnish woman with the same name.

How do I decide which side of the Atlantic Ocean she was really on? Could the church records be wrong? I have documentation for both sides.

Heikki Särkkä
15.06.24, 11:52
If the date of arrival in Canada is correct, then the church records dates are both wrong. However, thinking of the circumstances in both cases with a long line of arrivals in the port waiting to be recorded and one priest writing a certificate for a would-be emigrant from Finland, where would a mistake be more likely to occur, assuming that the woman was correctly identified?

Jouni Kaleva
15.06.24, 13:59
In Finland we use a bit different way of reading dates.
E.g.: 8.3.1907 would be 8th of March (instead of American 3rd of Aug)

Would that kind of misinterpretation be possible in the case?

If a person is travelling from Kurikka to Canada, there would be no sense in recording her arriving in Kauhajoki (or anywhere else in Finland) on the second day of her journey. So which is the record showing that? Could you provide us with the document in question, please (or a link to such)?

Jouni Kaleva
15.06.24, 14:26
I found the church records.